Back to top

Elegant Al Fresco Wedding Inspiration

Two Whimsical designs showcase the beauty of Mother Earth.
By: 
Chelsea Gibson

Setting one 

“The‭ ‬expansive‭ ‬alfalfa hayfield‭,‬ its miles of green views and the‭ ‬lush‭ ‬abundance it represents translated naturally to The Flora Club’s table runner—and that‭ ‬golden glow‭ ‬of‭ ‬ the setting sun across the field felt like the perfect‭ ‬California kiss‭.‬”‭ ‬—‭ ‬Lauren Westra‭, ‬photographer

The bride’s structured gown makes a beautiful juxtaposition with the organic textures surrounding her. 

A distinctive ceremony installation sits among flourishing flora—and the bistro chairs look as though they’re growing up from the ground with the alfalfa. Nestled on both sides of the aisle, potted arrangements contain sheaves of pampas grass for a delicate organic touch. 

Running the length of the table is a gorgeous floral centerpiece that toasts all things spring—including budding blooms, warm breezes and sun-soaked fields. The abundant arrangements are accented by charming place settings of scalloped plates, blush napkins and delicate flatware.  

A monochromatic white cake features a variety of textures and proportions, which are softened with a flutter of florals.

Bridal Attire‭:‬‭ ‬Galia Lahav‭ (‬gown‭; ‬@galialahav‭), ‬Bella Belle‭ (‬shoes‭; ‬@bellabelleshoes‭), ‬Fine Lines Jewelry‭ (‬jewelry‭; ‬@finelinesjewelry‭) ‬Bridal Stylist‭: ‬The Bold and Bridal‭ (‬@theboldandbridal‭)Cake‭: ‬Autumn Cake Design‭ (‬@autumncakedesign‭) ‬Event Design and Planning‭: ‬Ribbon and Leaf Events‭ (‬@ribbonandleaf‭), ‬Shelly Wolff‭ (‬@shellymwolff‭)‬‭ ‬Florals‭: ‬The Flora Club‭ (‬@thefloraclub‭) ‬Groom’s Attire‭: ‬The Black Tux‭ (‬@theblacktux‭) ‬Hair and Makeup‭: ‬Amanda Warren‭ (‬hair‭; ‬@amandawarrenhair‭), ‬Kristen Nicole‭ (‬makeup‭; ‬@kristennicolemakeup‭)‬‭ ‬Linens‭: ‬La Tavola Fine Linen‭ (‬@latavolalinen‭) ‬Models‭:‬‭ ‬Liz Goodyear Meendering‭ (‬@liz.meendering‭), ‬Georan Meendering‭ (‬@georan_meendering‭)‬  Photography‭: ‬Lauren Westra‭ (‬@laurenwestra‭), ‬Megan Welker‭ (‬@meganwelker‭) ‬Rentals‭: ‬Standard Event Rentals‭ (‬@standardeventrentals‭) ‬Stationery‭: ‬Kelly Patrice‭ (‬@kelly_patrice‭) ‬
Venue‭:‬‭ ‬Westwood Barns‭ (‬@westwoodbarns‭)‬

Setting two

“Influenced by the‭ ‬Spanish heritage‭ ‬of Santa Barbara‭, ‬this wedding editorial brings a modern take to Old World‭ ‬romance‭.‬‭ ‬Earthy tones and organic‭ ‬elements‭ ‬complemented the‭ ‬whimsical‭ ‬garden feel of the lily pond at El Encanto‭, ‬A Belmond Hotel Santa Barbara‭.‬”‭ ‬—‭ ‬Laura Garcia of Moon Velvet

The bride dons two different looks by Nordeen Bridal: The first is a romantic, long-sleeved lace gown, and the second is a sophisticated two-piece ensemble. 

Created to inspire the bride and groom who long to incorporate something old and something new into their day, this minimalistic design gives a sense of a timeless setting within a hidden garden.

The intimate reception table is the epitome of earthy elegance, with rustic stoneware, square glassware, gauzy napkins and free-form florals. Clean and simple menu cards lend a sophisticated finishing touch.

Working with a space and not just in a space is an art—and this design is a result of just that skill. Tucked under a veranda and graced with cascading greenery, the reception table feels like it’s in a secret garden. 

A dainty bouquet of white, light yellow, green and peach blooms looks as if could have been just picked from the garden.  

CLICK HERE for your FREE
California Wedding Day Planning Checklist!

Newsletter Subscribe

Featured Vendors