Back to top

Back in Black: Award-Winning Wedding Planner Nicole Alexandra Designs Brings A Fashionable Edge To The Darkest Of Color Palettes

By: 
Lara M. Burnap

“Callisto” flatware in rose gold with black-dipped handles brings a contemporary flair to the table setting. Prices begin at $1.50 per piece from Theoni Collection in Beverly Hills, theonicollection.com.

Layer Theoni Collection’s exclusive “Terra” charger and bread plate in onyx, both designed by Heath alum Jared Nelson, with Lexington’s “Lilas” dinner plate by Robert Haviland & C. Parlon. Prices begin at $12 for Lexington’s Haviland collection; $15 for “Terra” collection.

A black cotton napkin brings a glamorous touch to the place settings. $3.95 each at Crate and Barrel, multiple locations, crateandbarrel.com.

Toast to the happy couple with sleek water goblets. Price upon request from Dish Wish in El Segundo dishwishevents.com.

Luxe Linen’s “Poetic Blossom Amalfi” fabric provides a stunning backdrop. Price upon request, from Luxe Linen in Beverly Hills, luxelinen.com.

The iconic Chanel fragrance Coco Noir is a fitting scent for this modern-meets-glam design. $100, from Sephora, multiple locations, sephora.com.

Accessories are a great way to thread the color palette throughout a wedding. Finesse a fashionable moment with this feather headpiece. Price upon request, Madeleine Fig in Los Angeles, madeleinefig.com.

Adorn bridesmaids’ locks with these black rhinestone hair slides. $16, at Free People, multiple locations, freepeople.com.

This rose gold Swarovski “Glance” bangle features a pyramid of black and silver crystals on opposite sides of the open shank. $119, from Swarovski, multiple locations, swarovski.com.

“Acrylic menus are a great alternative to traditional stationery,” notes wedding planner Nicole Alexandra Designs. “It’s three-dimensional and adds a layer of texture to the design.” Pasadena’s Social Savvy Design Studio (social-savvy.com) created a modern lace design with gold calligraphy. The Sugar Philosophers (thesugarphilosophers.com) completed the menu and place card by laser-cutting a paper-thin piece of acrylic and engraving the design. Price upon request. 

A striking floral palette of burgundy and lavender with white is a showstopper. Long Beach–based Rebelle Fleurs (rebellefleurs.com) crafted the arrangement around preserved black roses using accents of burgundy dahlias, mini cymbidium orchids and Dutch brown lisianthus. Price upon request.

Newsletter Subscribe